Broker Check

Why Hire a CFA® Charterholder?

The Benefits of Working With a CFA® Charterholder

The Chartered Financial Analyst® designation, or CFA®, is a prestigious and challenging accomplishment for a financial professional to hold. It is among the most distinctive designations in the financial services industry. Globally, there are about 170,000 advisors that have been awarded the charter, and they are renowned for their commitment to financial ethics.  The mission of CFA Institute is to lead the investment profession globally by promoting the highest standards of ethics, education, and professional excellence for the ultimate benefit of society

There are many reasons why leaders across the investment industry trust their firms’ futures to CFA® charterholders: 

Earning the CFA® charter is a highly selective process. Fewer than one in five candidates become a CFA charterholder
It takes an average of 1,000+ hours of rigorous study, along with four years of professional experience and successful completion of the CFA® Program exam, to earn the distinction of being called a Chartered Financial Analyst® charterholder
All CFA charterholders are required to annually attest to their compliance with the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct
The CFA® credential is the professional standard of choice for more than 31,000 investment firms worldwide 

The CFA® program allows a financial professional to test their knowledge of the fundamentals of:

  • Quantitative and security analysis
  • Asset valuation
  • Portfolio management
    Wealth planning

In order for a financial professional to qualify to take the CFA® exam and achieve the designation, they need to have already accomplished one of the following:

According to CFA Institute, those that become CFA® charterholders are officially qualified to serve as senior executives in investment management, risk management, asset management, and other highly valued positions in financial services.  CFA Institute has nine offices worldwide and 156 local member societies.